Our Winter Wonderland

So as most of you know I hate the snow and the cold and everything that goes along with it. So my first winter in one of the coldest places in Oregon has been an adventure. I shoveled snow for the first time ever, have drank what seems like gallons of hot chocolate and been colder than I ever thought possibe.

The truth is, despite the cold and wet factor, the snow really is beautiful…(wait….ask me that again tomorrow while I am shoveling and I may change my opinion!!) Maybe the fact that it’s Christmas time makes me a little more tolerable of the snow because obviously snow make it feel like Christmas and obviously we’ve had a lot of it here because I’ve had Christmas decorations up since Thanksgiving, my tree is already on the verge of dying and Ive listened to more Christmas music than is healthy for one person!

 (A shot of our snowy driveway)

The downside of the snow is that I love to be outside, riding my horses, running with my dogs, working in my yard, or anything else that involves sunshine. I would much rather be lying on the beach with the sunshine beating down than be skiing or freezing my butt off!

However, since I have all of this time on my hands (hence why I may have finally started the blog I’ve been talking about for 2 years!) I got to thinking and decided that despite how dreadful the snow is I am going to enjoy it this year. No reason to sit around and feel sad about the snow because no matter how sad I get…..its still gonna snow!!

So to start off on the right foot we went on a quick, yet beautiful snowmobile ride this afternoon. Yes, quick because before I knew it, I couldnt feel my face…..so my husband so kindly gave me some sort of face sock thing to cover my cheeks etc. which helped for a little while until my hands started freezing (cotton gloves in snow are a really bad idea!!) and then my feet…and then I requested that we turn around!

Maybe I am just destined to live somewhere warm because I get really cold, really fast. I came home, stripped off my wet clothes and sat in my long johns in front of the heater with my feet pressed up against it and then suddenly it shut off and it didn’t turn back on.  Yes, a safety shut off….good to know those things actually work!! However, it must have been heating up my socks pretty good and I still couldn’t feel the heat!!

Whew….glad day one of enjoying the snow has come to end!

Merry Christmas!

Liz

About Thiswifeslife

I am an unorganized fun loving wife who is crazy about my husband, my dogs, my horses and cooking. I love trying new recipes but the reality is this is real life and more often than not I just end up with a really big mess and really good food that doesnt look like a chef prepared it! I don't believe in cake mixes, frozen dinners or anything premade. My house is never spotless, all of the laundry is never done, I always make a huge mess when I cook and at the end of the day, I still have so much I hoped to finish! I am also a newlywed and Im still adjusting to living my new husband, and hes still adjusting to my little quirks like leaving every light in the house on when I go to bed or plugging up our garbage disposal with carrot peels! I write about real life, real meals that you can make at home without having to order in special ingredients and projects and thoughts that real down to earth people find interesting! Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

