Venison Steak & Potatoes With Stirfry

So I know many of you probably don’t eat venison but around our house its a main staple. Not only is it super healthy for you, but there are so many ways to season it and cook it and you have a tasty dinner! I know…I know…some people don’t like the taste….I say it’s all in your head! I LOVE it! We have a whole freezer full of venison and elk meat so we eat a lot of it but this is my favorite way to cook it!

First fill a shallow dish with Pride of The West Batter or flour and season it with cajun seasoning or whatever you have on hand. Dip thinly sliced steaks in the pan and coat with flour, patting to make sure its coating really good!

Now heat up a large skillet and put a little bit of olive oil in it. Put the steaks in there and cook on each side until red starts to show through flour. (As shown below) Then flip over and cook on other side. Or if you’re impatient like me, flip them a whole bunch of times beacuse you can’t stand waiting on them!

When steak is done it will be kind of crispy on the outside and delicious!

Now you can’t eat just steak for dinner….well unless your my husband who would prefer to eat only meat!

Now for cheesy potatoes. Dice potatos into small chunks and boil them until they are fairly soft. Then drain water and return potatoes to pan and add a big spoonful of butter, sprinkle them with cheese and season with salt and pepper.

Yummm!!

Now for the stirfry. Chop red cabbage into strips, bell peppers (whatever color you have), a little bit of onion and anything else you might want to throw in! Add a splash of olive oil to a skillet and fry away!

Stir fry until veggies are cooked but not too soft or they’ll be gooey!

And now you have one my favorite dinners! Enjoy!

Merry Christmas!!

About Thiswifeslife

I am an unorganized fun loving wife who is crazy about my husband, my dogs, my horses and cooking. I love trying new recipes but the reality is this is real life and more often than not I just end up with a really big mess and really good food that doesnt look like a chef prepared it! I don't believe in cake mixes, frozen dinners or anything premade. My house is never spotless, all of the laundry is never done, I always make a huge mess when I cook and at the end of the day, I still have so much I hoped to finish! I am also a newlywed and Im still adjusting to living my new husband, and hes still adjusting to my little quirks like leaving every light in the house on when I go to bed or plugging up our garbage disposal with carrot peels! I write about real life, real meals that you can make at home without having to order in special ingredients and projects and thoughts that real down to earth people find interesting! Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

